Horror Writers Association 2019 Specialty Press Award GOES TO SST Publications

LOS ANGELES, CA, March 4, 2020

The Horror Writers Association (HWA) proudly announces SST Publications (SST) as the recipient of the 2019 Specialty Press Award. “I’d really like to thank the HWA for awarding SST with this honor. I honestly can’t believe that SST has won the HWA Specialty Press Award,” said publisher Paul Fry. “It really means the world to me.”

Each year the HWA recognizes the accomplishments of a noteworthy small press. The Specialty Press Award brings recognition to an outstanding publisher of horror, dark fantasy, and weird fiction. This year’s Specialty Press Award will be presented during StokerCon™ 2020 held from April 16 to 19th at the Royal and Grand Hotels, Scarborough, United Kingdom.

“To be able to do something you love for a living and then to be given this incredible award by people you respect and admire truly is an honor,” Paul Fry explained. Short, Scary Tales Publications (SST) is a small UK independent publisher with huge dreams when founded in 1999 by Paul Fry. In 2000, SST published its first title, Cold Storage, a horror collection including an introduction by the legendary Graham Masterton.

SST has published some of the best authors in the business, including Stephen King, Joe R. Lansdale, Clive Barker, Ray Garton, Ed Gorman, Simon Clark, Jack Ketchum, Bentley Little, Steve Rasnic Tem, Peter Straub, Tom Piccirilli, Paul Kane, Richard Chizmar, and many more. “Our aim is to produce the highest-quality titles in several formats and genres,” Paul Fry said. “But our top priority is to treat our customers like we’d like to be treated. We think that’s extremely important in any business.”

The HWA is a nonprofit organization of writers and publishing professionals around the world, dedicated to promoting dark literature and the interests of those who write it. The HWA formed in 1985 with the help of many of the field’s greats, including Dean Koontz, Robert McCammon, and Joe Lansdale. Today, with over 1,500 members around the globe, it is the oldest and most respected professional organization for the much-loved writers who have brought you the most enjoyable sleepless nights of your life. The Horror Writers Association is the home of the prestigious Bram Stoker Award® and the creator of the annual StokerCon™ convention.

For More Information Contact:

John W. Dennehy, Communications Director

Horror Writers Association