1988 Bram Stoker Award Winners & Nominees

1988 Bram Stoker Award Nominees & Winners

[presented in 1989]


The Silence of the Lambs by Thomas Harris, Winner
The Drive-In by Joe R. Lansdale
Flesh by Richard Laymon
Stinger by Robert R. McCammon
Queen of the Damned by Anne Rice
Black Wind by F. Paul Wilson

First Novel

Resurrection, Inc. by Kevin J. Anderson
Fear Book by John L. Byrne
Deliver Us from Evil by Alan Lee Harris
Cities of the Dead by Michael Paine
Demon Night by J. Michael Straczynski
The Suiting by Kelley Wilde, Winner

Long Fiction

“The Function of Dream Sleep” by Harlan Ellison
“Horrorshow” by John Farris
“The Night Flier” by Stephen King
“The Skin Trade” by George R. R. Martin
“Orange is for Anguish, Blue for Insanity” by David Morrell, Winner
“The Juniper Tree” by Peter Straub

Short Fiction

“The Thing at the Top of the Stairs” by Ray Bradbury
“She’s a Young Thing and Cannot Leave Her Mother” by Harlan Ellison
“The Night They Missed the Horror Show” by Joe R. Lansdale, Winner
“Nobody Lives There Now” by Carol Orlock
“Jack’s Decline” by Lucius Shepard
“The Music of the Dark Time” by Chet Williamson

Fiction Collection

Charles Beaumont: Selected Stories by Charles Beaumont, Winner
The Toynbee Convector by Ray Bradbury
Angry Candy by Harlan Ellison
The Blood Kiss by Dennis Etchison
Scare Tactics by John Farris
Blood and Water and Other Tales by Patrick McGrath


No nominees