1989 Bram Stoker Award Winners & Nominees

1989 Bram Stoker Award Nominees & Winners

[presented in 1990]


Geek Love by Katherine Dunn
In A Dark Dream by Charles L. Grant
Midnight by Dean R. Koontz
The Wolf’s Hour by Robert R. McCammon
Carrion Comfort by Dan Simmons, Winner

First Novel

Goat Dance by Douglas Clegg
Sunglasses After Dark by Nancy A. Collins, Winner
The Dwelling by Tom Elliott
The Lilith Factor by Jean Paiva
Laying the Music to Rest by Dean Wesley Smith

Long Fiction

“On the Far Side of the Cadillac Desert With Dead Folks” by Joe R. Lansdale, Winner
“Phantom” by Kristine Kathryn Rusch
“At First Just Ghostly” by Karl Edward Wagner
“The Confessions of St. James” by Chet Williamson

Short Fiction

“A Sad Last Love at the Diner of the Damned” by Edward Bryant
“Eat Me” by Robert R. McCammon, Winner
“Each Night, Each Year” by Kathryn Ptacek
“Bodies and Heads” by Steve Rasnic Tem
“Yore Skin’s Jes’ So Soft ‘n Purdy,’ He Said” by Chet Williamson

Fiction Collection

Patterns by Pat Cadigan
By Bizarre Hands by Joe R. Lansdale
Collected Stories by Richard Matheson, Winner
Blue World by Robert R. McCammon
Soft and Others by F. Paul Wilson


H. P. Lovecraft by Peter Cannon
American Vampires: Fans, Victims, Practitioners by Norine Dresser
Harlan Ellison’s Watching by Harlan Ellison, Winner (Tie)
Horror: The 100 Best Books by Stephen Jones & Kim Newman, Winner (Tie)
Horror: A  Connoisseur’s Guide to Literature and Film by Leonard Wolf