1991 Bram Stoker Award Winners & Nominees

1991 Bram Stoker Award Nominees & Winners

[presented in 1992]


The M.D. by Thomas M. Disch
Needful Things by Stephen King
Dark Tower III: The Waste Lands by Stephen King
Boy’s Life by Robert R. McCammon, Winner
Summer of Night by Dan Simmons

First Novel

Winter Scream by Chris Curry & L. Dean James
Wilderness by Dennis Danvers
The Cipher by Kathe Koja, Winner (Tie)
Unearthed by Ashley McConnell
Prodigal by Melanie Tem, Winner (Tie)

Long Fiction

“Fetish” by Edward Bryant
“Death Leaves an Echo” by Charles de Lint
“Magpie” by Stephen Gallagher
“Advocates” by Suzy McKee Charnas & Chelsea Quinn Yarbro
“The Beautiful Uncut Hair of Graves” by David Morrell, Winner

Short Fiction

“The Ash of Memory, the Dust of Desire” by Poppy Z. Brite
“Lady Madonna” by Nancy Holder, Winner
“Love Doll: A Fable” by Joe R. Lansdale
“The Braille Encyclopaedia” by Grant Morrison
“Wolf Winter” by Maxine O’Callaghan
“Richard’s Head” by Al Sarrantonio

Fiction Collection

Waking Nightmares by Ramsey Campbell
Prayers to Broken Stones by Dan Simmons, Winner
Sex Punks and Savage Sagas by Richard Sutphen
Naked Flesh of Feeling by J. N. Williamson


Vampires Among Us by Rosemary Ellen Guillen
Clive Barker’s Shadows of Eden by Stephen Jones, Winner
Prism of Night: A Biography of Anne Rice by Katherine Ramsland
The Shape Under the Sheet: The Complete Stephen King Encyclopedia by Stephen J. Spignesi