1996 Bram Stoker Award Winners & Nominees

1996 Bram Stoker Award Nominees & Winners

[presented in 1997]


Exquisite Corpse by Poppy Z. Brite
Crota by Owl Goingback
The Green Mile by Stephen King, Winner
The Hellfire Club by Peter Straub

First Novel

Flute Song by Donald Burleson
Crota by Owl Goingback, Winner
Horror Show by Greg Kihn
Dead Heat by Del Stone

Long Fiction

“Kilroy Was Here” by Jack Cady
“The Thing from Lover’s Lane” by Nancy Collins
“The Red Tower” by Thomas Ligotti, Winner
“Brimstone and Salt” by S. P. Somtow

Short Fiction

“Metalica” by P. D. Cacek, Winner
“The Slobbering Tongue That Ate the Frightfully Huge Woman” by Robert Devereaux
“The Secret Shih Tan” by Graham Masterton
“The House of Mourning” by Brian Stableford
“Plan 10 from Inner Space” by Karl Edward Wagner

Fiction Collection

The Convulsion Factory by Brian Hodge
The Nightmare Factory by Thomas Ligotti, Winner
Shadow Dreams by Elizabeth Massie
With Wounds Still Wet by Wayne Allen Sallee
The Pavilion of Frozen Women by S. P. Somtow


Bram Stoker: A Biography of the Author of Dracula by Barbara Belford
The Great Pulp Heroes by Don Hutchison
The Illustrated Werewolf Movie Guide by Stephen Jones
H.P. Lovecraft: A Life by S. T. Joshi, Winner
V is for Vampire by David Skal