2008 Bram Stoker Award Winners & Nominees

2008 Bram Stoker Award Nominees & Winners

[presented in 2009]


Duma Key by Stephen King, Winner
Coffin County by Gary Braunbeck
The Reach by Nate Kenyon
Johnny Gruesome by Gregory Lamberson

First Novel

The Gentling Box by Lisa Mannetti, Winner
Midnight on Mourn Street by Christopher Conlon
Monster Behind the Wheel by Michael McCarty and Mark McLaughlin
The Suicide Collectors by David Oppegaard
Frozen Blood by Joel A. Sutherland

Long Fiction

Miranda by John R. Little, Winner
The Shallow End of the Pool by Adam-Troy Castro
Redemption Roadshow by Weston Ochse
The Confessions of St. Zach by Gene O’Neill

Short Fiction

“The Lost” by Sarah Langan, Winner
“Petrified” by Scott Edelman
“The Dude Who Collected Lovecraft” by Nick Mamatas and Tim Pratt
“Evidence of Love in A Case of Abandonment” by M. Rickert
“Turtle” by Lee Thomas


Unspeakable Horror edited by Vince A. Liaguno and Chad Helder, Winner
Like a Chinese Tattoo edited by Bill Breedlove
Horror Library, Vol. 3 edited by R. J. Cavender
Beneath the Surface edited by Tim Deal

Fiction Collection

Just After Sunset by Stephen King, Winner
The Number 121 to Pennsylvania by Kealan Patrick Burke
Mama’s Boy and Other Dark Tales by Fran Friel
Mr. Gaunt and Other Uneasy Encounters by John Langan
Gleefully Macabre Tales by Jeff Strand


A Hallowe’en Anthology by Lisa Morton, Winner
Cheap Scares by Gregory Lamberson
Zombie CSU by Jonathan Maberry
The Book of Lists: Horror by Amy Wallace, Del Howison, and Scott Bradley

Poetry Collection

The Nightmare Collection by Bruce Boston, Winner
The Phantom World by Gary William Crawford
Virgin of the Apocalypse by Corrine De Winter
Attack of the Two-Headed Poetry Monster by Mark McLaughlin and Michael McCarty