2014 Bram Stoker Award Winners & Nominees

The presentation of the Bram Stoker Awards® occurred during the World Horror Convention in Atlanta, Georgia on the evening of Saturday, May 9, 2015. The awards presentation was also live-streamed online.


Suffer the Children (Gallery Books of Simon & Schuster) by Craig DiLouie
Jade Sky (JournalStone) by Patrick Freivald
Beautiful You (Jonathan Cape, Vintage/Penguin Random House UK) by Chuck Palahniuk
The Vines (47North) by Christopher Rice
Blood Kin (Solaris Books) by Steve Rasnic Tem, winner

First Novel

Mr. Wicker (Raw Dog Screaming Press) by Maria Alexander, winner
Forsaken (Hampton Creek Press) by J. D. Barker
Consumed (Scribner) by David Cronenberg
Return of the Mothman (Woodland Press) by Michael Knost
Bird Box (Harper Collins) by Josh Malerman

Young Adult Novel

Intentional Haunting (Permuted Press) by Jake Bible
Phoenix Island (Simon & Schuster/Gallery Books) by John Dixon, winner
Unmarked (The Legion Series Book 2) (Little Brown Books for Young Readers) by Kami Garcia
Passionaries (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers) by Tonya Hurley
All Those Broken Angels (Flux) by Peter Adam Salomon

Graphic Novel

Through the Woods (Margaret K. McElderry Books) by Emily Carroll
Locke and Key, Vol. 6 (IDW Publishing) by Joe Hill
I Tell You It’s Love (Short, Scary Tales Publications) by Joe R. Lansdale and Daniele Serra
Bad Blood (Dark Horse Books) by Jonathan Maberry, winner
The Witcher (Dark Horse Books) by Paul Tobin

Long Fiction

“The Infected” (Cemetery Dance #71) (Cemetery Dance) by Taylor Grant
“Dreams of a Little Suicide” (Hell Comes to Hollywood II: Twenty-Two More Tales of Tinseltown Terror (Volume 2)) (Big Time Books) by Eric J. Guignard
“Fishing for Dinosaurs” (Limbus, Inc., Book II) (JournalStone) by Joe R. Lansdale, winner
“Three Guys Walk into a Bar” (Limbus, Inc., Book II) (JournalStone) by Jonathan Maberry
“Lost and Found” (Limbus, Inc., Book II) (JournalStone) by Joe McKinney

Short Fiction

“Hot Tub” (Hell Comes to Hollywood II: Twenty-Two More Tales of Tinseltown Terror (Volume 2)) (Big Time Books) by Hal Bodner
“Baby’s Breath” (Bugs: Tales That Slither, Creep, and Crawl) (Great Old Ones Publishing) by Sydney Leigh
“The Vaporization Enthalpy of a Peculiar Pakistani Family” (Qualia Nous) (Written Backwards) by Usman T. Malik, winner (tie)
“Ruminations” (Qualia Nous) (Written Backwards) by Rena Mason, winner (tie)
“Splinterette” (Widowmakers: A Benefit Anthology of Dark Fiction) (Widowmaker Press) by John Palisano
“The Floating Girls: A Documentary” (Jamais Vu, Issue Three) (Post Mortem Press) by Damien Angelica Walters


The Walking Dead: “The Grove”, episode 4:14 (AMC) by Scott M. Gimple
The Babadook (Causeway Films) by Jennifer Kent, winner
Penny Dreadful: “Séance” (Desert Wolf Productions/Neal Street Productions) by John Logan
Doctor Who: “Listen” (British Broadcasting Corporation) by Steven Moffat
American Horror Story: Coven: “The Magical Delights of Stevie Nicks” (FX Network) by James Wong


Qualia Nous (Written Backwards) by Michael Bailey
A Darke Phantastique (Cycatrix Press) by Jason V Brock
Fearful Symmetries (ChiZine Publications) by Ellen Datlow, winner
Burnt Tongues (Medallion Press) by Chuck Palahniuk, Richard Thomas, and Dennis Widmyer
Limbus, Inc., Book II (JournalStone) by Brett J. Talley

Fiction Collection

After the People Lights Have Gone Off (Dark House Press) by Stephen Graham Jones
Little by Little (Bad Moon Books) by John R. Little
Gifts for the One Who Comes After (ChiZine Publications) by Helen Marshall
Soft Apocalypses (Raw Dog Screaming Press) by Lucy A. Snyder, winner
The End in All Beginnings (Grey Matter Press) by John F.D. Taff


Disorders of Magnitude (Rowman & Littlefield) by Jason V Brock
Lovecraft and a World in Transition (Hippocampus Press) by S. T. Joshi
The New Annotated H. P. Lovecraft (Liveright Publishing Corp., a division of W.W. Norton & Co.) by Leslie S. Klinger
Horror 101: The Way Forward (Crystal Lake Publishing) by Joe Mynhardt and Emma Audsley
Shooting Yourself in the Head For Fun and Profit: A Writer’s Survival Guide (Post Mortem Press) by Lucy A. Snyder, winner

Poetry Collection

Fearworms: Selected Poems (Fanboy Comics) by Robert Payne Cabeen
Venus Intervention (Kipple Officina Libraria) by Corrine De Winter and Alessandro Manzetti
Forgiving Judas (Crossroad Press) by Tom Piccirilli, winner
Sweet Poison (Dark Renaissance Books) by Marge Simon and Mary Turzillo
Mourning Jewelry (Raw Dog Screaming Press) by Stephanie Wytovich